BizTalk Rule Engine Policies Not Working

I recently created one policy and deployed on my another development Box, But it was strange, because it was not modifying my input XML.

I checked the logic of my rule and imported few times, Also restarted my Rule Engine Services, however it did not work for me. The only change which i was doing is, deploying on a different operating system. My other development Box was running Windows 7, 64 bit.

I searched a lot about the issue but did not find much information.

My Rule us using XmlHelper class to modify the input xml using some decisions based on the supplied values in xml file.

Finally after searching more about this class, I figured out the problem and fixed it. The steps are below:

  • I had to make some changes in my registry:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\BusinessRules\3.0\StaticSupport

  • I created the key and it started working fine.

About the Registry Key:

I had to set the value 2 of the above registry key, which tells BizTalk Rule engine to support usage of static objects , details are:

  • 2 – An instance of the object is NOT required, but the static method will be called at rule translation time (only if the parameters are constants). This is primarily meant as a performance optimization. However, note that static members used as actions will NOT be executed at translation time, but static methods used as parameters may be.

The Key was not there in my registry So i have created and set the value 2, It started working.

Finally I found more details about this problem in a blog post here by Richard. Please see the blog post for more details.

About Naushad Alam
I am a BizTalk developer/administrator/designer/architect with over 9 years of experience. Currently I am living in UK and working with one of the largest bank as a Senior BizTalk Consultant. I believe in sharing my experience with others and learn more while helping or solving others problem.

Leave a Reply

